The lies some employers tell

Some employers in Kuwait seem to take great pleasure in lying to their employees and creating some kind of fear in their hearts. My ex employer (thank God ) told a young South African teacher last year that she would have to pay them 6000KD if she decided to back out of the contract she had signed for the next year. She told them in June and the new contract wasn’t valid until september 1st. So terrified was she, that she ‘did a runner’ mid June and lost her summer salary and indemnity. I know another employee in a similar position, who , ok did give a bit more notice……but she was let off the 6000KD penalty speech because, she says, she has Kuwaiti nationality.

I just read this on the Arab Times website and felt so sorry for the poor sod. He had moved himself up a notch, got a new job in Australia and then his employer dropped the bombshell on him:

”I am an Indian currently working with a company for the last 16 years. I would like to leave my job, cancel my residence and go to Australia, directly from Kuwait as I have got my immigration visa. My company has informed me that since I am cancelling my residence I will have to go back to my home country only and cannot go to Australia from Kuwait. I am confused and in deep trouble as I have already booked my ticket to Australia which is not refundable and plus I have to take my personal belongings which are here in Kuwait. Please advise.”

Of course this is complete crap and the guy can fly out of Kuwait to wherever he chooses……..but some nasty piece of work at his place of work was obviously jealous of his new move and gave him the completely wrong info.

The Arab Times legal clinic replied :

”Your company is wrong and is probably ignorant of Kuwaiti laws. Kuwait authorities don’t ask where you go once you cancel your residence as long as you have a visa for that country. So just go ahead as planned and take the flight to Australia. You should have no problems.”

Karma.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

